Thankful

Standard

I’m thankful for my family. Without them, I (obviously) wouldn’t be the person I am today.

Thank you to my Mom, who when her young daughter saw two men kissing for the first time and questioned it, my Mom responded with a simple “Because they love each other.” To my Mom, who taught me that my body is mine and mine alone and no other person in the world has the right to control any part of it.

To my Dad, who taught me what a real man should be, loving and respectful to both his spouse and his children. To my Dad, who taught me all of my all the things most dads are only for boys to learn, like changing tires and using power tools, and to never let a man tell me otherwise.

To my sister, who still has to deal with my “baby sibling” jokes, despite the fact she is probably a full foot taller than me. My sister, who when I went through tough times in my life, still loved me. My sister, who dealt with my sleeping walking/talking/screaming, and still loved me. My sister, who loves me now more than ever, despite the fact that we live over a thousand miles apart.

To the rest of my family, who taught me how to see both sides of the coin, think of others when making big decisions, and how to hold my ground when the topic is important to me.

I am thankful for my wonderful husband, who loves me everyday, and never lets me forget it. My husband, who eats my bad cooking and doesn’t complain (much). My husband, who works hard everyday, so I can stay home with our child. My husband, who supported me both physically and mentally through the birth of our first daughter and who will do it again with our second.

My daughter, who teaches me patience all day every day. Who helps me see the beauty in every thing, the joy in every beat, and the happiness in every moment.

I am thankful for you all.

Leave a Reply

