Employment is great!

Standard

For those that don’t know, I put my job on hold for the last 4 months while I temporarily moved to LA. I got married to the love of my life, and enjoyed the break from the day to day stress of the workplace.  I made sure that my boss knew that my move was only temporary, and due to my good work record, I was told I’d have a job when I came back. Then, the economy decided to be a jerk and explode, and things became not so simple.

The understanding was that they’d not hire anyone to replace me, thus my job would be waiting when I got back. Considering my job was understaffed even when I was there, I felt that returning was all but a guarantee; but after a few confusing calls to my job, my boss finally admitted that the economy had affected them, and what was always an understaffed store was now apparently a full house – at least, full with everyone they could afford. I was getting frustrated.

Luckily, my boss is actually quite a nice guy (as far as bosses go), and he insured me that he’d do everything he could to find a place for me. And as of two days ago the likeliest thing seemed to be having to go jobless for a month or so, until winter passes and the store’s business picks back up so they need more help. Well, good news came yesterday, and turns out another employee was fired. And luckily one with a full 40 hours a week, so they simply will be giving me her schedule. I talked to my boss today, and he took the opportunity to tell me that he had my back all along. I’m not completely convinced of that, but I’m glad he kept me in mind. So, I start back next Thursday!

It will be a little hectic with moving back only two days prior, but I’m sure I can manage. I’m just glad to know we won’t have an undetermined amount of time without income. This will be a great step on the way to me and Clara getting our own place soon.

I apologize for the long post, but had to share the good news.

Leave a Reply

